Acceptable Identification at the Checkpoint

Adult passengers (18 and over) are required to show a valid U.S. federal or state-issued photo ID in order to be allowed to go through the checkpoint and onto their flight.We understand passengers occasionally arrive at the airport without an ID, due to lost items or inadvertently leaving them at home. Not having an ID does not necessarily mean a passenger won't be allowed to fly. If passengers are willing to provide additional information, we have other means of substantiating someone's identity, like using publicly available databases.

Passengers who are cleared through this process may be subject to additional screening. Passengers whose identity cannot be verified by TSA may not be allowed to enter the screening checkpoint or onto an airplane.

Acceptable IDs include:

   - U.S. passport
   - U.S. passport card
   - DHS "Trusted Traveler" cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
   - U.S. Military ID (active duty or retired military and their dependents, and DOD civilians)
   - Permanent Resident Card
   - Border Crossing Card
   - DHS-designated enhanced driver's license
   - Driver's Licenses or other state photo identity cards issued by Department of Motor Vehicles (or equivalent)
   - Native American Tribal Photo ID
   - HSPD-12 PIV Card
   - An airline or airport-issued ID (if issued under a TSA-approved security plan)
   - A foreign government-issued passport
   - Canadian provincial driver's license or Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) card
   - Transportation Worker Identification Credential (TWIC)
   - Non-US/Canadian citizens are not required to carry their passports if they have documents issued by the U.S.
      government such as Permanent Resident Cards. Those who do not should be carrying their passports while
      visiting the U.S.

This standardization of the list of accepted documents better aligns TSA with other DHS components, including Customs and Border Protection, and REAL ID benchmarks.

Click Here for additional Information from Transportation Security Administration.